#clmooc #light Like Dandelions

Kim Douillard’s Sunshine on a Stem

Yes, I love these words, so powerful in their simplicity and wish. Interestingly, Kim doubted her metaphor, and shared it out to us for comment. When I read her post, I smiled, knowing that on my wall in my classroom is a tall poster that reads: Dandelions are my favorite flower because they refuse to stop growing. It’s there every year, for almost thirty years. So Kim, we educators love that metaphor!

This is Write with Light  [Storytelling with Light] Week 5 of #clmooc. And the first story I thought of was this metaphor, so I neoned it the best I could:

dandelion_kim1

But it just didn’t seem quite the light it needed. I live in a rural area, and there’s not much in supplies for glowing things, but I do have Keynote on my Mac.  And I know I can make words and images sparkle and shimmer with light with that app. So I created the video above [first in Keynote, then in iMovie, and on to YouTube. It’s not perfect, but it fits with light, sparkling dandelion constellations, and growing writers and tinkerers and explorers. Because I did those things to make it.

But the best Make on Like Dandelions is from Anna Smith with her Zeega.

Like Dandelions

► Play Zeega ►

by anna

 

Thanks #clmooc team this week [ the Maker Jawn Initiative from the Free Library of Philadelphia ], Kim Douillard, and Kevin Hodgson for inspiring this Write with Light.

How are you writing with light this week?