PLN Challenge: How do I organize?

diigo education pioneer teacherchallenge-1mhy8u5Learning with the new Build Your PLN Edublogs Teacher Challenge creates many resources I may forget. Sarah Wooden commented how it’s not easy to keep track of every thing. Sue Waters shares how to keep track of fellow bloggers and comments through an RSS Reader. But what about all the tools and strategies we learn about– the tool link, the how-tos, and the examples? How do we remember where to find those?

My own strategy is to use Diigo, a social bookmarking and highlighting tool that allows me to create lists and groups to which I add bookmarks to those websites I want to remember. I have a list that is just for Tools — Animoto, Wallwish, etc. I also may put how-to pages there, or in my How-To List. I have lists for lessons, certain topics, specific tools (like Google Apps).

Now that I’ve got you thinking, Diigo has a free and premium version — and teachers should apply for the education version. My language arts students use Diigo for research, note-taking, and writing feedback and research sharing. Each class has their own private group, and we have one group for all our classes.

And I belong to several groups, including Classroom 20, Diigo in Education , and EdTechTalk. I’ve created a group for the Teacher Challenges, called “ebchallenge” if you decide to join Diigo. That way, our new PLN we are building can share resources with each other.

Remember, it’s easy as your ABCs.

Add a highlight to a webpage.

Bookmark to Diigo (into a group and/or list).

Comment in the webpage using the Sticky Note feature and in the description box about what you learned when you click bookmark.

Save.

From any connected computer, you can access your bookmarks and highlights with annotations (comments). You now have organized and saved all your precious research, tools, and learning !

Interested? Please join our PLN ebchallenge group: ebchallenge

Here’s the Diigo Vimeo overview:

Diigo V5: Collect and Highlight, Then Remember! from diigobuzz on Vimeo.

Diigo V5: Collect and Highlight, Then Remember! from diigobuzz on Vimeo.

11 Comments

on “PLN Challenge: How do I organize?
11 Comments on “PLN Challenge: How do I organize?
  1. Hi Sheri,

    I was already a member of diigo but you have showed me some new ways to use it so thank you! I have also joined the ebchallenge group.

    Jessica

  2. Pingback: PLN Challenge # 4: Making Time | New School ELT

  3. Hi Sheri,

    I’m at ISTE’s Bookmarks & PLN session right now. I just learned that you can create an annotated note and share that URL with your PLN to continue the discussion. What a great way to continue the conversation without having to reproduce all the thoughts. It’s a great time saving tip that I just learned.

    Here is the link with their presentation:
    http://coolcatteacher.visibli.com/share/cqmmol

    They also talk about how you can use it in your classroom and build PLN with the kids. Sheri, have you done that?

    Kind regards,
    Tracy

    • Hi Tracy: Yes, my students shared research sites with their annotations. We also used bookmarks and annotations as feedback on drafts in progress on our wikis. Here’s a post about it: Diigo in Writing Class Thanks for the link from Vicki Davis as Cool Cat Teacher from #ISTE11.

  4. Pingback: Group Link Post 06/27/2011 | KJsDiigoBookmarks

Comments are closed.