#nablopomo #nablopomoed Blog A Day 23 Time for

2013-Participant-Square-Button#nablopomo #nablopomoed  Blog A Day  23 Time for…

…writing. It’s 3:42 PM. I’ve been working on my novel since noon, and should have started at 9:00 am.  I’m behind, but not really. I’m 39,455 words into the 50,000 required by November 30th for National Novel Writing Month #NaNoWriMo. Really, I’ve already met my count for the day, but weekends are my main writing times, since teaching demands so much time and energy. For those of you not in education, a teacher’s day does not end at 3:00 PM.  So on the weekends I’m building a world, I’m writing it into existence. It wasn’t here before, and now it is. Each letter, each word adds another dimension to my character, the setting, the action, the mystery. It just flows out and meets with what was written before and lays the path towards the future. It fits. That’s the creative process in action. I would have thought before my first NaNoWriMo that I needed an outline, a draft of a play, some prewriting, but that isn’t true. A kernel of an idea, a what if or perhaps a sentence from your imagination begins the journey. If you believe in it, your kernel, your nugget of a sentence, then your world will pop out and expand into a connected and deep story. If you believe it, and place yourself into your new world, all you need to do is start to tell it, to show in words what your mind envisions, one word, one incident, one character at a time until the story is told. Next November, try it. You will never teach writing the same again.

… a movie.  My husband will arrive home later this evening; he’s already warned me that a movie break is in order. Hopefully we can find something we like. A drama with suspense and mystery. That’s my preference.

What do you have time for today?