#nablopomoed Day 6 Way to School

#nablopomoed Day 6

On the way to school today I noticed how light it was now that we are on Daylight Savings Time; I’d rather have the daylight after school. I noticed that it was warmer than the supposed forecast — so no predicted black ice, thankfully.

I noticed the yellow and red leaves, a canvas of nature’s art to ease us into the cold of winter. Each clump of deciduous trees, elm and aspen mostly, filled the frame of my glance with calm and drew my eyes from the barren brown of the dying grasses and the dull green of fall sage. I allowed the image of full branches, bursting in the yellow of sunshine and red of a morning sun, knowing that next week the leaves will have let go, leaving the bare branches to bend in the wind and brace the snow. I hold the yellow and red vision and hope it will last.

It’s time to pull out one of my favorite poems:

Dust of Snow by Robert Frost

 

The way a crow
Shook down on me
The dust of snow
From a hemlock tree

 

Has given my heart
A change of mood
And saved some part
Of a day I had rued.
leavesbanner425x35